• Captain Jack-In-The-Box

pers_jack1Since my youth I’ve been a science fiction fan. Good sci-fi, that is.

Like things written by Isaac Asimov, Ray Bradbury, Arthur Clarke and others of that immortal ilk. Or, the current version of “Battlestar Galactica.”

I especially like the low-tech BBC series “Torchwood” and “Doctor Who,” which exhibit a childlike version of the genre while dealing with all sorts of grownup moral, ethical and scientific topics, both allegorical and metaphorical. But I doubt I’ll ever watch either one the same way again.

That’s because John Barrowman, who stars on “Torchwood” as Captain Jack Harkness and has a recurring role as the same character on “Dr. Who,” thought it was a fine thing to do to expose his genitals on a live Radio 1 show in the UK that also was video streamed over the Internet. The incident aired Sunday night.

It happened when show host Nick Grimshaw said to Barrowman, “You’re famous, we’re told, for getting your willy out in interviews. Is this going to happen today? Should Annie (Mac, the show’s co-host) be careful?”

Barrowman then asked if the webcam was on, and when told that it was broadcasting live video, said, “All right, I’ll get it out for you then. No problem.”

According to the BBC, the show’s producer moved to obscure the webcam, but listeners and viewers heard Mac screaming “Oh, my God!” as Barrowman and Grimshaw laughed.

Barrowman then was heard to say, “I didn’t take the whole thing out, but I got my fruit and nuts out.”

Ewwwww!

Barrowman, in the grand tradition of English stiff-upper lipism, later said, “I apologize for any offense I have caused. I was joining in the lighthearted and fun banter of the show and went too far. I was wrong to do this, and it will never happen again.”

Unfortunately, every time Captain Jack pops up appears on screen from now on, the incident will replay to the delight of many voyeurs disgust of many viewers.

About Bill Dowd

Webmaster/social media coordinator for the Southern Rensselaer County NY Rotary Club.

One response to “• Captain Jack-In-The-Box”

  1. John C.Erianne says :

    Thankfully, I missed the webcam of Barrowman, but the fact that it happened doesn’t surprise me. He just seems like someone who is a bit of a joker and also gets off on shocking people. That being said, you’d think a grown man would have better sense and exhibit a little more maturity. It’s not like he was doing the Howard Stern Show. On the other hand, at least Capt. Jack didn’t jack-off.

Leave a Reply

